Selling jewellery online!

The last time I updated this blog it was to tell you about a new hobby I had discovered: jewellery making. That was back in January and so here I am two months later to give you a fantastic update.

I had literally just started with the past-time when I wrote before, and now I am a self employed jewellery-maker and supplier of beading ‘things’.

I have to say that immediately I started to create body adornments I was in absolute heaven. I think it is fair to say I have never enjoyed a hobby so much! And to be perfectly honest, the last few years I have struggled to find something worthy to fill my time, at a time when my health dictated I take some down time so it was needed.

It has been a learning curve. When I got into jewellery making I never realised there was so much to learn. It really is an industry in and of itself, even now a few months later I think I have still only touched the surface.

To date I have created earrings (the dangly kind), necklaces and bracelets. Bracelets seem to be my go-to choice when making a new piece of jewellery. I just enjoy them to much. They are relatively easy to make and quick too. Until recently I had been sticking with tiger tail wire, but I have started to wire wrap now too, which is an art in itself.

Very quickly I began to get orders in from friends and colleagues, which gave me a boost – especially so early on in my hobby. So I set up a facebook page and the likes started to come in thick and fast! You can view my page here: https://www.facebook.com/jewellerydesignsbyclaire

While this has been happening I have been working as a volunteer for a national charity in order to get me back to a point where I can return to work. I had also been applying for “real” jobs, and have been lucky enough to bag a very good job which starts in a few weeks. In the meantime I have finished my volunteering after 11 months of service and gone full time with my beading business.

Its proving a full time job in itself. This is because I have also ventured out into offering beading supplies. A lot of my time is taken up with liasing with suppliers to get fantastic findings and other things together for other jewellery makers to use but I am enjoying it so much!

I have set up an account on folksy.com which houses my online shop at the moment. You can view it here: https://beta.folksy.com/shops/vintagedreamsbyclaire. Please do visit it and spread the word as I havent had any sales through there yet and would really like it to take off.

I am also in the process of setting up a website so you can order direct from me but may end up going to ebay and amazon too, if I need to.

Here is a selection of my jewellery:

PTDC0081

PTDC0074

PTDC0062

PTDC0024

PTDC0043

PTDC0023

PTDC0003

Do you do any jewellery making? Or other hobbies? Leave a comment and tell me about it?

Please like my facebook page and visit my online shop 🙂

Please leave a reply

